You likley go to work in Detroit every day secure in your assumption that were you to be injured on the job, your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance would cover a good deal of your accident expenses. Unfortunately, several of the clients that we here at Adler Stillman PLLC have worked with in the past have had to learn the hard way that not all employers offer such a benefit. If you have also recently discovered this sad truth, then you will want to understand what the workers’ compensation requirements are in Michigan so that you can plan your next move.
In many cases, companies that do not carry workers’ compensation coverage may try to tell their employees that they do not have to. However, according to Michigan’s state government website, all of the following types of employers must offer such protection:
- All public employers
- Private employers who employ three or more people at one time (including part-time employees)
- Private employers who have employed one or more people for an average of 35 hours per week for 13 weeks or longer during the preceeding 52 weeks
- Agricultural employers who employ three or more people for an average of 35 hours per week for 13 or more consecutive weeks
- Households that have employed domestics for an average of 35 hours per week for 13 weeks or longer during the the preceeding 52 weeks
If your employer falls into one of these categories, yet fails to maintain workers’ compensation coverage for you and your coworkers, it could face fines and its owners might even be punished with jail time. Yet what about your accident expenses? You are allowed to sue for damages without the worry that doing so will affect your employment.
You can learn more about state workers’ compensation requirements by continuing to explore our site.